Malaysia Holidays in 2020

Holiday date Holiday name Specific Location Holiday Type
Wed, January 1 New Year's Day All except JHR, KDH, KTN, PLS, TRG Common Local Holiday
Tue, January 14 Birthday of Yang di-Pertuan Besar Negeri Sembilan Common Local Holiday
Sat, January 25 Chinese Lunar New Year's Day Federal Public Holiday
Sun, January 26 Second day of Chinese Lunar New Year Federal Public Holiday
Mon, January 27 Second day of Chinese Lunar New Year Federal Public Holiday
Sat, February 1 Federal Territory Day KUL, LBN, PJY Common Local Holiday
Sat, February 8 Thaipusam JHR, KUL, NSN, PJY, PNG, PRK, SGR Common Local Holiday
Fri, February 14 Valentine's Day Observance
Fri, February 21 Maha Shivaratri Hindu Holiday
Wed, March 4 Anniversary of the coronation of the Sultan of Terengganu Terengganu Common Local Holiday
Tue, March 10 Holi Hindu Holiday
Fri, March 20 March equinox Season
Sun, March 22 Isra and Mi'raj KDH, NSN, PLS Common Local Holiday
Mon, March 23 Birthday of the Sultan of Johor Johor Common Local Holiday
Fri, April 10 Good Friday Sabah, Sarawak Common Local Holiday
Sun, April 12 Easter Sunday Observance
Wed, April 15 Declaration of Malacca as Historical City Malacca Common Local Holiday
Fri, April 24 Ramadan begins JHR, KDH, MLK Common Local Holiday
Sun, April 26 Birthday of the Sultan of Terengganu Terengganu Common Local Holiday
Fri, May 1 Labour Day Federal Public Holiday
Thu, May 7 Wesak Day Federal Public Holiday
Thu, May 7 Pahang State Holiday Pahang Common Local Holiday
Sun, May 10 Nuzul Al-Quran KTN, KUL, LBN, PHG, PJY, PLS, PNG, PRK, SGR, TRG Common Local Holiday
Sun, May 24 Hari Raya Puasa Day 1 Federal Public Holiday
Sun, May 24 Hari Raya Puasa Federal Public Holiday
Mon, May 25 Hari Raya Puasa Day 2 Federal Public Holiday
Tue, May 26 Hari Raya Puasa All except JHR, KDH, KTN, TRG Federal Public Holiday
Sat, May 30 Harvest Festival Labuan, Sabah Common Local Holiday
Sun, May 31 Harvest Festival Day 2 Labuan, Sabah Common Local Holiday
Mon, June 1 Harvest Festival Day 2 observed Labuan, Sabah Common Local Holiday
Mon, June 1 Gawai Dayak Sarawak Common Local Holiday
Tue, June 2 Gawai Dayak Holiday Sarawak Common Local Holiday
Sat, June 6 The Yang di-Pertuan Agong's Birthday Federal Public Holiday
Sat, June 20 June Solstice Season
Sun, June 21 June Solstice Season
Tue, July 7 Georgetown World Heritage City Day Common Local Holidays
Tue, July 7 George Town World Heritage City Day Penang Local Holiday
Sat, July 11 Penang Governor's Birthday Penang Local Holiday
Fri, July 17 Birthday of the Raja of Perlis Perlis Local Holiday
Wed, July 22 Sarawak Independence Day Sarawak Common Local Holiday
Fri, July 31 Hari Raya Haji Federal Public Holiday
Sat, August 1 Hari Raya Haji (Day 2) KDH, KTN, PLS, TRG Common Local Holiday
Sun, August 2 Hari Raya Haji holiday JHR, KDH, KTN, TRG Common Local Holiday
Mon, August 3 Raksha Bandhan Hindu Holiday
Tue, August 11 Janmashtami Hindu Holiday
Thu, August 20 Muharram/New Year Federal Public Holiday
Sat, August 22 Ganesh Chaturthi Hindu Holiday
Mon, August 31 Malaysia's National Day Federal Public Holiday
Wed, September 9 The Yang di-Pertuan Agong's Birthday Federal Public Holiday
Wed, September 16 Malaysia Day Federal Public Holiday
Tue, September 22 September equinox Season
Thu, September 24 Almarhum Sultan Iskandar Hol Day Johor Common Local Holiday
Sat, October 3 Birthday of the Governor of Sabah Sabah Common Local Holiday
Fri, October 9 Birthday of the Governor of Malacca Malacca Common Local Holiday
Sat, October 10 Birthday of the Governor of Sarawak Sarawak Common Local Holiday
Sat, October 17 Navaratri Hindu Holiday
Sat, October 24 Birthday of the Sultan of Pahang Pahang Common Local Holiday
Sun, October 25 Dussehra Hindu Holiday
Thu, October 29 The Prophet Muhammad's Birthday Federal Public Holiday
Fri, November 6 Birthday of the Sultan of Perak Perak Common Local Holiday
Wed, November 11 Birthday of the Sultan of Kelantan Kelantan Common Local Holiday
Thu, November 12 Birthday of the Sultan of Kelantan (Day 2) Kelantan Common Local Holiday
Sat, November 14 Diwali/Deepavali All except SWK Common Local Holiday
Fri, December 11 Birthday of the Sultan of Selangor Selangor Common Local Holiday
Mon, December 21 December Solstice Season
Thu, December 24 Christmas Eve Observance
Fri, December 25 Christmas Day Federal Public Holiday
Thu, December 31 New Year's Eve Observance

Yule

Good Friday

Easter

Easter Monday

Mother’s Day