Birthday Of The Raja Of Perlis

Perlis Indera Kayangan is the smallest state in Malaysia, both by size and population. It’s located in the northern part of the west coast of Peninsular Malaysia and is often referred to simply by the name Perlis. This area has some of its own holidays that are different from Malaysia and the Birthday of the Raja of Perlis is one of these holidays.

This holiday commemorates the birthday of Tuanku Syed Sirajuddin, the current Raja of Perlis. However, it should be mentioned that this holiday isn’t celebrated on the date of his actual birthday. The date this holiday is celebrated is changed from time to time so it doesn’t coincide with Ramadan or early Aidilfitri.

The History Of The Birthday Of The Raja Of Perlis

Tuanku Syed Sirajuddin was born on May 17, 1943 in Arau, Perlis, and he has been the Raja of Perlis since April of 2000. His birthday has been celebrated as a holiday ever since, although it doesn’t always fall on May 17th.

Sometimes it’s moved so that it doesn’t interfere with Ramadan or early Aidilfitri celebrations. From 2000 to 2017 it was observed on May 17th (or, observed on the following day if it falls on a Sunday), but starting in 2018 it’s been observed on July 17th (July 18th when it falls on a Sunday).

Observing The Birthday Of The Raja Of Perlis

Because it’s a public holiday, this is not only a day off for the general population, but it’s also a day when government agencies and offices are closed, as well as many businesses. It’s also a day when the State welcomes a number of high-level dignitaries from across the region. On this day, residents of Perlis who have done remarkable things for Perlis also receive awards from the Raja on this day.

At the venue hosting the birthday celebration, the entire area is lit up with lights from the venue to the streets. There are also live performers, concerts, and other events held on this day for citizens and tourists alike to enjoy.

Where is it celebrated?
Malaysia (Local holiday)
When is it?
This year (2023)
July 17 Monday
Next year (2024)
July 17 Wednesday
Last year (2022)
July 17 Sunday