Constitution Day in Puerto Rico

Observed annually on July 25th, Constitution Day is a state holiday in Puerto Rico. This holiday commemorates the date when the Constitution of Puerto Rico was signed into law by then-Governor Luis Muñoz Marín in 1952. Before this holiday was established, it was formerly known as Occupation Day, a holiday that commemorated the arrival of U.S. military forces on July 25, 1898, in the Yauco municipality.

Constitution Day is known as Día de la Constitución del Estado Libre Asociado in Puerto Rico and features a commemorative ceremony at the Puerto Rico Department of State Headquarters, as well as other celebratory events held across the country.

The History of Puerto Rico Constitution Day

On March 3, 1952, the Constitution of Puerto Rico was ratified by a referendum by the electorate. On July 25, 1952, it was officially proclaimed by Puerto Rico Governor Luis Muñoz Marín, and that’s the day it officially took effect. This holiday falls on the same day as the now-defunct Occupation Day.

Observing Puerto Rico Constitution Day

Because this is an official state holiday in Puerto Rico, it’s a day off for the general population. It’s also a day when some government offices are closed, and when some businesses and banks are closed as well. On this day, there are also numerous events that people can participate in while they’re raising the flag of Puerto Rico from their homes and/or businesses.

All across Puerto Rico, parties and parades are held. There are also political speeches that underline the importance of this holiday. People also take the time to spend time with friends and family members. While they’re spending time with those they love, they often enjoy some great food.

Dishes that include Empanadillas, Chiles Rellenos, Pollo Guisado, and Arroz con Gandules. To spread the word about this holiday around the World Wide Web, people can use the hashtag #PuertoRicoConstitutionDay on their social media accounts.

Where is it celebrated?
Puerto Rico (Bank/public sector holiday)
When is it?
This year (2024)
July 25 Thursday
Next year (2025)
July 25 Friday
Last year (2023)
July 25 Tuesday