Southland Anniversary Day

Southland Anniversary Day is a holiday observed in the Southland Province of New Zealand. It was originally created on April 1, 1861, when the province separated from Otago Province. In 1876, Southland Province was abolished under the Abolition of the Provinces Act.

However, like other provinces, it retained its Anniversary Day as a holiday. In 2011, the holiday was moved from the 1st of April to the Tuesday after Easter, which is the day it has been observed ever since. As this is a public holiday in the Southland Region, many businesses, government offices, and schools are closed for the day.

Facts About New Zealand

To learn more about Southland Anniversary Day, we first had to delve into New Zealand’s history. After collecting all those facts, we decided to list some of them so that everyone reading about this holiday can enjoy them. Below are the facts we compiled.

  • New Zealand broadcast the first weather report in Elvish in 2012.
  • There are nine sheep for every person living in New Zealand.
  • New Zealand has more golf courses per capita than any other country in the world.
  • The only native land mammals in New Zealand are bats; all others were introduced by Māoris and Europeans.
  • New Zealand is the third closest country to Antarctica.
  • The three official languages of New Zealand are English, Māori, and New Zealand Sign Language.

Observing Southland Anniversary Day

Throughout the Southland Region, this holiday is observed with fairs, festivals, and other events that highlight the cultural heritage of the region. It is also a day when the general public enjoys a day off, and many schools, banks, and businesses are closed. On social media, the hashtag #SouthlandAnniversaryDay is used to spread the word about this holiday.

Where is it celebrated?
New Zealand (Local holiday) - Southland
When is it?
This year (2024)
April 2 Tuesday
Next year (2025)
April 22 Tuesday
Last year (2023)
April 11 Tuesday