Easter Monday

Immediately following Easter Sunday is a day observed by many Roman Catholic and Eastern Orthodox traditions, and this day is called Easter Monday. For many people across the world, this day is a somber remembrance of the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ. For others, it is a celebratory day filled with much laughter and fun.

Customs And Observations

This day is celebrated in a number of different ways. For instance, while it is generally not observed in the United States, there are parts of the country with predominately Polish populations that celebrate it as Dingus Day. This includes cities such as Chicago, Buffalo and Cleveland. On this day, people in these areas often engage in parades and other types of festivals.

In many Eastern Orthodox Churches, Easter Monday is a day for religious reflection. Services are provided and they often include an outdoor procession that is done after the Divine Liturgy.

In the Co-operative Republic of Guyana, special kites are flown on this day. Kites that were crafted on Holy Saturday. This is the only time of the year the people of Guyana fly kites, and it is believed that this tradition goes back to Chinese immigrants who brought their spring kite festival to the area in the eighteenth century.

Where is Easter Monday celebrated?

Cayman Islands, Montserrat, Grenada, Barbados, Belize, Saint Kitts and Nevis, British Virgin Islands, Cyprus, Dominica, Kiribati, St. barts, Aruba, Hong kong, Turks and Caicos Islands, US Virgin Islands, Antigua and Barbuda, Armenia, Jordan, Fiji, Tuvalu, Croatia, Hungary, Andorra, Ireland, Anguilla, Holy See (Vatican City), Lebanon, Mayotte, Curacao, Italy, Luxembourg, Saint Martin, Cook islands, Liechtenstein, Guyana, Sweden, Canada - Alberta, NB, NT, NU, QC, Saint Vincent and The Grenadines, Tonga, Monaco, Guatemala, Jamaica, Martinique, Australia, Trinidad and Tobago, Guernsey, France, Kosovo, Kenya, Vanuatu, Benin, Reunion, Greenland, Slovakia, Chad, Greece, Latvia, Samoa, Montenegro, Suriname, Nauru, Czech Republic, Sierra leone, Germany, Slovenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Saint Lucia, Zimbabwe, Faroe Islands, Botswana, Malta, Nigeria, Finland, Zambia, Bangladesh, Poland, Namibia, Guinea, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Malawi, Madagascar, Pakistan, Burkina Faso, Senegal, Congo, Solomon Islands, New Zealand, United Kingdom - ENG, NIR, WAL, Scotland, Gambia, Iceland, Netherlands, The Bahamas, Norway, Saint Helena, Sint Maarten, Bulgaria, United States, Mali, Papua New Guinea, Austria, Niger, Tanzania, Belgium, Switzerland - All except NE, Ghana, Albania, Denmark, Togo, San Marino, Spain - CM, CT, IB, LO, NA, PV, S, VC, Uganda, Central African Republic, Jersey, Gabon, Lithuania, Lesotho, French Guiana, French Polynesia, New Caledonia, Wallis and Futuna, Gibraltar, Isle of Man, North Macedonia, Eswatini, Seychelles Show all 125 locations