DateNameType / Location
Friday, Jan 1
New Year's Day
Public Holiday
New Year's Day
Tuesday, Jan 12
Zanzibar Revolution Day
Public Holiday
Zanzibar Revolution Day
Saturday, Mar 20
March Equinox
Season
March Equinox
Friday, Apr 2
Good Friday
Public Holiday
Good Friday
Sunday, Apr 4
Easter
Observance
Easter
Monday, Apr 5
Easter Monday
Public Holiday
Easter Monday
Wednesday, Apr 7
Karume Day
Public Holiday
Karume Day
Monday, Apr 26
Union Day
Public Holiday
Union Day
Saturday, May 1
Worker's Day
Public Holiday
Worker's Day
Sunday, May 9
Mother's Day
Observance
Mother's Day
Thursday, May 13
Eid al-Fitr (End of Ramadan)
Public Holiday
Eid al-Fitr (End of Ramadan)
Monday, Jun 21
June Solstice
Season
June Solstice
Wednesday, Jul 7
Saba Saba
Public Holiday
Saba Saba
Tuesday, Jul 20
Eid al-Adha
Public Holiday
Eid al-Adha
Sunday, Aug 8
Peasants' Day
Public Holiday
Peasants' Day
Wednesday, Sep 22
September Equinox
Season
September Equinox
Thursday, Oct 14
Mwalimu Nyerere Day
Public Holiday
Mwalimu Nyerere Day
Tuesday, Oct 19
Mawlid / Prophet's Birthday
Public Holiday
Mawlid / Prophet's Birthday
Thursday, Dec 9
Republic Day
Public Holiday
Republic Day
Tuesday, Dec 21
December Solstice
Season
December Solstice
Friday, Dec 24
Christmas Eve
Observance
Christmas Eve
Saturday, Dec 25
Christmas Day
Public Holiday
Christmas Day
Sunday, Dec 26
Boxing Day
Public Holiday
Boxing Day