Switzerland Holidays in 2023

Holiday date Holiday name Specific Location Holiday Type
Sun, January 1 New Year's Day All Common Local Holidays
Mon, January 2 Berchtold Day 14 cantons Common Local Holidays
Fri, January 6 Epiphany GR*, SZ, TI, UR Common Local Holiday
Wed, March 1 Republic Day Neuchâtel Common Local Holiday
Sun, March 19 St. Joseph's Day GR*, LU*, NW, SO*, SZ, TI, UR, VS, ZG* Common Local Holiday
Mon, March 20 March Equinox Season
Sun, March 26 Daylight Saving Time starts Clock Change/daylight Saving Time
Thu, April 6 Näfelser Fahrt Glarus Common Local Holiday
Fri, April 7 Good Friday All except TI, VS Common Local Holiday
Sun, April 9 Easter Sunday Observance
Mon, April 10 Easter Monday All except NE Common Local Holiday
Mon, April 17 Sechseläuten Zurich Observance
Mon, May 1 May Day AG, BL, BS, FR*, JU, SH, SO*, TG, TI, ZH Common Local Holiday
Thu, May 18 Ascension Day All Common Local Holiday
Sun, May 28 Pentecost All Observance
Mon, May 29 Pentecost Monday All except NE Common Local Holiday
Thu, June 8 Corpus Christi 14 states Common Local Holiday
Wed, June 21 June Solstice Season
Fri, June 23 Jura Independence Day Jura Common Local Holiday
Thu, June 29 St. Peter and St. Paul GR*, SO*, TI Common Local Holiday
Tue, August 1 Swiss National Day National Holiday
Tue, August 15 Assumption of Mary 14 states Common Local Holiday
Thu, September 7 Jeune Genevois Geneva Common Local Holiday
Sat, September 9 Knabenschiessen Zurich Observance
Sun, September 10 Knabenschiessen Zurich Observance
Mon, September 11 Knabenschiessen Zurich Observance
Sun, September 17 Swiss Federal Fast All except ge Common Local Holiday
Mon, September 18 Federal Fast Monday Vaud Common Local Holiday
Fri, September 22 Saint Mauritius' Day Appenzell Innerrhoden*, Solothurn* Common Local Holiday
Sat, September 23 September equinox Season
Mon, September 25 St. Nicholas of Flüe Obwalden Common Local Holiday
Sun, October 29 Daylight Saving Time ends Clock Change/daylight Saving Time
Wed, November 1 All Saints' Day 15 states Common Local Holiday
Fri, December 8 Immaculate Conception 12 states Common Local Holiday
Fri, December 22 December Solstice Season
Sun, December 24 Christmas Eve Observance
Mon, December 25 Christmas Day All Common Local Holiday
Tue, December 26 St. Stephen's Day All except GE, JU, VD Common Local Holiday
Sun, December 31 Restoration Day Geneva Common Local Holiday
Sun, December 31 New Year's Eve Observance

Summer Solstice

Eid al-Adha

Bastille Day

Ashura

Yom Kippur

Sukkot

Diwali