Canada Holidays in 2018

Holiday dateHoliday nameSpecific LocationHoliday Type
Mon, January 1 New Year's DayNational Holiday
Tue, January 2 Day After New Year’s Day QuebecLocal Holiday
Sat, January 6 EpiphanyObservance, Christian
Sun, January 7 Orthodox Christmas DayOrthodox
Sun, January 14 Orthodox New YearOrthodox
Wed, January 31 Tu B'Shevat (Arbor Day)Jewish Holiday
Thu, February 1 Black History MonthObservance
Fri, February 2 Groundhog DayObservance
Mon, February 12 Family Day British columbiaCommon Local Holidays
Tue, February 13 Carnival/Shrove TuesdayChristian
Wed, February 14 Valentine's DayObservance
Wed, February 14 Ash WednesdayChristian
Thu, February 15 National Flag of Canada DayObservance
Fri, February 16 Chinese New YearObservance
Mon, February 19 Islander Day Prince edward islandCommon Local Holidays
Mon, February 19 Family Day Ab , on , skCommon Local Holidays
Mon, February 19 Nova Scotia Heritage Day Nova scotiaCommon Local Holidays
Mon, February 19 Louis Riel Day ManitobaCommon Local Holidays
Fri, February 23 Yukon Heritage Day YukonLocal Holiday
Thu, March 1 St David's DayObservance
Thu, March 1 PurimJewish Holiday
Sun, March 11 Daylight Saving Time startsClock Change/daylight Saving Time
Mon, March 12 Commonwealth DayObservance
Sat, March 17 St. Patrick's DayObservance
Mon, March 19 St. Patrick's Day Newfoundland and labradorLocal Holiday
Tue, March 20 March equinoxSeason
Sun, March 25 Palm SundayChristian
Thu, March 29 Maundy ThursdayChristian
Fri, March 30 Good FridayNational Holiday, Christian
Sat, March 31 Holy SaturdayChristian
Sat, March 31 First day of PassoverJewish Holiday
Sun, April 1 Easter SundayObservance, Christian
Mon, April 2 Easter Monday AlbertaObservance
Fri, April 6 Orthodox Good FridayOrthodox
Fri, April 6 National Tartan DayObservance
Sat, April 7 Last day of PassoverJewish Holiday
Sat, April 7 Orthodox Holy SaturdayOrthodox
Sun, April 8 Orthodox EasterOrthodox
Mon, April 9 Orthodox Easter MondayOrthodox
Mon, April 9 Vimy Ridge DayObservance
Wed, April 11 Yom HaShoahJewish Holiday
Fri, April 13 Isra and Mi'rajMuslim
Thu, April 19 Yom HaAtzmautJewish Holiday
Mon, April 23 St. George's Day Newfoundland and labradorLocal Holiday
Thu, May 3 Lag B'OmerJewish Holiday
Thu, May 10 Ascension DayChristian
Sun, May 13 Mother's DayObservance
Wed, May 16 Ramadan beginsMuslim
Sun, May 20 PentecostChristian
Sun, May 20 ShavuotJewish Holiday
Mon, May 21 Whit MondayChristian
Mon, May 21 Victoria Day All except ns , nu , qcCommon Local Holidays
Mon, May 21 National Patriots' Day QuebecLocal Holiday
Sun, May 27 Trinity SundayChristian
Thu, May 31 Corpus ChristiChristian
Sun, June 10 Laylat al-Qadr (Night of Destiny)Muslim
Fri, June 15 Eid-al-FitrMuslim
Sun, June 17 Father's DayObservance
Thu, June 21 June SolsticeSeason
Thu, June 21 National Aboriginal DayObservance
Sun, June 24 St. Jean Baptiste Day QuebecLocal Holiday
Mon, June 25 St. Jean Baptiste Day observed QuebecLocal Holiday
Mon, June 25 Discovery Day Newfoundland and labradorLocal Holiday
Sun, July 1 Canada DayNational Holiday
Sun, July 1 Memorial Day Newfoundland and labradorLocal Observance
Mon, July 2 Canada Day - additional statutory holidayNational Holiday
Mon, July 9 Orangemen's Day Newfoundland and labradorLocal Holiday
Mon, July 9 Nunavut Day NunavutLocal Holiday
Sun, July 22 Tisha B'AvJewish Holiday
Wed, August 1 The Royal St John's Regatta (Regatta Day) Newfoundland and labradorLocal Holiday
Mon, August 6 Heritage Day in AlbertaCommon Local Holidays
Mon, August 6 Civic/Provincial Day Nt , on , pe , skCommon Local Holidays
Mon, August 6 Terry Fox Day ManitobaCommon Local Holidays
Mon, August 6 New Brunswick Day New brunswickCommon Local Holidays
Mon, August 6 British Columbia Day British columbiaCommon Local Holidays
Mon, August 6 Natal Day Nova scotiaCommon Local Holidays
Wed, August 15 Assumption of MaryChristian
Fri, August 17 Gold Cup Parade Prince edward islandLocal Holiday
Mon, August 20 Discovery Day YukonLocal Holiday
Wed, August 22 Eid-al-AdhaMuslim
Mon, September 3 Labour Day AllNational Holiday
Mon, September 10 Rosh HashanaJewish Holiday
Wed, September 12 Muharram/Islamic New YearMuslim
Wed, September 19 Yom KippurJewish Holiday
Sun, September 23 September equinoxSeason
Mon, September 24 First day of SukkotJewish Holiday
Sun, September 30 Last day of SukkotJewish Holiday
Mon, October 1 Shmini AtzeretJewish Holiday
Tue, October 2 Simchat TorahJewish Holiday
Thu, October 4 Feast of St Francis of AssisiChristian
Mon, October 8 Thanksgiving Day Nb , nl , ns , peObservance
Thu, October 18 Healthcare Aide Day British columbia, manitobaObservance
Wed, October 31 HalloweenObservance
Thu, November 1 All Saints' DayObservance
Fri, November 2 All Souls' DayChristian
Sun, November 4 Daylight Saving Time endsClock Change/daylight Saving Time
Mon, November 5 Diwali/DeepavaliObservance
Sun, November 11 Remembrance Day All except nl , ns , on , qcNational Holiday
Mon, November 12 Remembrance Day observed All except nl , ns , on , qcNational Holiday
Wed, November 21 Prophet's BirthdayMuslim
Sun, December 2 First Sunday of AdventObservance
Mon, December 3 First Day of HanukkahJewish Holiday
Sat, December 8 Feast of the Immaculate ConceptionChristian
Mon, December 10 Last day of HanukkahJewish Holiday
Tue, December 11 Anniversary of the Statute of WestminsterObservance
Fri, December 21 December SolsticeSeason
Mon, December 24 Christmas EveObservance
Tue, December 25 ChristmasNational Holiday, Christian
Wed, December 26 Boxing Day Mb , nb , nl , ns , on , pe , ytCommon Local Holidays
Mon, December 31 New Year's EveObservance